Family Fun

Bismillaah.

I believe fun time is so important for families. It gives everyone a chance to unwind and goof off. If members of the family have busy schedules with school and work, it also gives everyone a break from the everyday drab of daily life, just enjoying being with the ones you love.

But family fun time is most important for the kids I would think. For muslim children it is an essential part of a balanced way of life. While we teach our children the importance of prayer, fasting, hijab and lowering the gaze, we should also be allowing them to be children. A little bit of halal fun never hurt anyone, and it can really work wonders for a child’s psychological development.

We had been planning to take a trip to the beach, but the weather here is still not “beach-hot”, so instead we took the kids to an amusement park.

Dream Park is one of the big amusement parks here in Egypt. It’s in a new city outside Cairo called 6th of October. It’s been around since 1999. My two oldest have visited here on school field trips, but this was the first time for me and hubby. The park opens at 10, so we left home around 9am and it took us under an hour to get there.


We headed straight over to the kiddy section which to our delight was totally empty! No long lines alhamdu lillaah! No whiny kids…”mommy, when are we gonna get our turn?”


Children’s World.


The merry-go-round at Children’s World.

There were some rides where the parents had to get on with their kids. One of them was the ferris wheel.



The view from up on the ferris wheel. That’s a little musalla (prayer area) for women. I just love that about Egypt!


From atop the ferris wheel.


Palm trees.

After a while we went to check out the “big kid” rides and roller coasters. I was so excited! I grew up on summers filled with King’s Dominion and Wild World (now known as Great Adventures), and I have never known a roller coaster I couldn’t conquer, lol! Stand-up roller coasters, hanging roller coasters, turn me upside down roller coasters, splash through water roller coasters…you name it, I was on it! So needless to say, I turned into a little kid when I saw all those rides, lol!

This was the first one hubby and I got on.


As we entered into the big kid’s section, we saw this one in motion. It wasn’t going that fast or high up, had no upside downs, so we were thinking we’ll get warmed up with this one.

At the first drop, my head started spinning out of control, I felt like I was going to throw up, and turned to my husband and said, “I am too old for this!” The look in his face said the same thing. After a few seconds, he managed to get out, “We need to respect our age!”

The ride finally ended alhamdu lillaah, and we staggered onto the platform. The kids were waiting by the side with the attendants. They had the most worried looks on their faces. They kept asking us, “Were yall the ones screaming?” “Were you scared?” It was too cute mashaa Allaah. I told them that we were not scared, but mommy and Abi were getting too old for roller coasters. My husband changed up though, and was like, “After a few more and you’ll get over the feeling.” I was like no thanks, I am not trying to go home sick.

I remembered that the last time I got on a roller coaster was about 12 years ago. The BSU at my university sponsored a trip to King’s Dominion. It was the first time for me to go to King’s Dominion outside of the summer months. It was empty and I was able to get on all my favorite rides like 3 and 4 times. It was the best King’s Dominion trip I had ever had!

But I ain’t 19 anymore! The Roller Coaster Queen has retired, lol!

We prayed thuhr and decided to leave since the place was starting to get crowded. We promised the kids gifts for their report cards so we headed on over to Carrefour and found some nice stuff.

After that we headed back to Nasr City for dinner at Cook Door. This is one of the nicer fast food joints here in Cairo. I was unsure about how it would go for me, since I’ve trying to eat healthy and lose some weight (fast food = unhealthy = gaining more weight). I really didn’t want to go overboard but I was sooooo hungry, lol! So when I got the menu I was happy to see that they had a “diet” menu mashaa Allaah. It consisted of a selection of grilled sandwich combos (whole wheat bun instead of white, green salad instead of fries and diet instead of regular Coke). Whoooo-hoooooo! I was SO happy! I ordered the grilled chicken fajita sandwich combo. I was so happy sitting there eating my healthy delicious food! Mashaa Allaah! Everyone else got regular combos (w/fries and regular soda), but hubby said he’d try the healthy one next time inshaa Allaah. He’s not trying to lose weight alhamdu lillaah, but we are trying to make an overall effort to eat healthier in our family inshaa Allaah. And fast food fries ain’t a part of the picture, lol!

All in all the day was very nice and relaxing. The kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves and so did hubby and I. Alhamdu lillaah.

I’ll try to upload the videos I shot on another post inshaa Allaah.

15 thoughts on “Family Fun

  1. wooooooooo weeeeeeeeeee

    (blaaaaaaaaaaaaaah) !!!

    HAHAHA The exact same thing happened to me last year when I went there, I was like, sooooo sick! HAHAHHAHA I never want to go on another rollercoaster! I cant believe how old I am!

    ANd my husband HAHAHAHHAA he didnt like rollercoasters EVER so you can imaine wha happened to him when I convinced him to try 😀

    BY THE WAY what an awesome new look ma shaa Allah!

  2. My husband and I experienced the same thing last summer when we took the kids to an amusement park. We realized that what was fun when we were 18 and 19 is not really that fun now!!! But watching the kids enjoy themselves is very enjoyable

  3. Umm T: Some I’m not the only retired 30-something year old roller coaster queen, huh! I get the feeling my husband is not the roller coaster type either…he refused to ride another one without me. He really wanted to ride the hanging one, but I refused. So he didn’t ride. He did ride one other one with Rahmah but that was it.

    Jazakillaahu khayran for the compliment…I’m hoping to keep the blog looking this way for a while inshaa Allaah.

    T. Abdurrahman: Yes watching the kids enjoy themselves is loads of fun mashaa Allaah. How many kids do you all have by the way? You know I was telling my sister I never knew J. had a brother, lol! So it is really a pleasure to have met you! Is she still reading my blog? I’d really like to hear from her.

    • We have 5 girls. Alhamdulilaah !! What Joy!!! I believe J is still reading your blog- I know I do often, I guess I am one of those who read but rarely comment., lol.

      • Wow! Five girls sounds super fun! May Allaah bless you all, ameen. Yes, she’s reading, she actually wrote to me recently alhamdu lillaah. I was sooooo happy to hear from her.

  4. Umm T: Some I’m not the only retired 30-something year old roller coaster queen, huh! I get the feeling my husband is not the roller coaster type either…he refused to ride another one without me. He really wanted to ride the hanging one, but I refused. So he didn’t ride. He did ride one other one with Rahmah but that was it.

    Jazakillaahu khayran for the compliment…I’m hoping to keep the blog looking this way for a while inshaa Allaah.

    T. Abdurrahman: Yes watching the kids enjoy themselves is loads of fun mashaa Allaah. How many kids do you all have by the way? You know I was telling my sister I never knew J. had a brother, lol! So it is really a pleasure to have met you! Is she still reading my blog? I’d really like to hear from her.

  5. I went with my husband first time I was in Egypt for the first time 3 years ago. We went on that rollercoaster and my husband hated it and felt all sick. I just stayed in and went for another 2 tours. It was not busy so I didn’t even have to go back in line. So unlike here at the amusement park in Montreal where you wait on *average* 2h for one ride. I haven’t been there since before Dream Park though. I’m planning on going this summer though with my co-workers. I was 19 when I was in Egypt, I wonder if getting married, having a baby, getting a steady job (essentially becoming a real adult) has changed my feelings about rollercoasters!
    Note on the married thing… I got married 2 weeks after I met my husband in real life, on that first month-long trip to Egypt… So I *may* have been married when I went to Dream Park, but I don’t remember exactly if it was before or after!
    And Asiya, thanks for re-visiting my blog. 🙂

  6. Sorry for having to add another comment. I am very tired right now and I don’t think it was “that” rollercoaster since the one I went on was one that went upside down… Man, I’m heading straight to bed! I need to get my words right the first time.

  7. Candice, thanks for your comment! And no need to thank me for stopping by your blog…I told you before I felt like you’re a real nice gal…I’m glad I did check in when I did though 😉 Hope your little girl’s getting better.

  8. Candice, thanks for your comment! And no need to thank me for stopping by your blog…I told you before I felt like you’re a real nice gal…I’m glad I did check in when I did though 😉 Hope your little girl’s getting better.

  9. Sounds like fun (without the whole roller coaster experience-I think we all face that very experience at an amusement parks as adults!) Nice blog, sister!

  10. very nice Asiya! i used to love roller coasters too, but now they give me concussion headaches, lol. you’re right, i like my life too much now to get on them. 🙂

  11. I am so glad you shared the rest of the story with us. I met tyou just a few months after the death of (y)our brother, may Allah forgive him and have mercy on Him. It was evident then that tyou all were still grieving and the love that you all had for each other. Just by being close to you and your sisters, I felt that Mujhammad was my brother too.

    You think you canget your sisters to contribute to this post and give their versions of this?

  12. Fatima: Thanks for commenting…concussions do NOT sound nice…:(

    Umm Adam: Awwww thanks for your comment sis, that’s so sweet of you. I think you meant to comment on my other post (the rest of the story), no?

    Najwa and Asma are not the blogging types…I’m pretty sure at least one of them is a never-commenting career blurker though, lol! But I’ll ask them though, you never know.

Leave a Reply

