Ramadan Journal Day 1: Ramadan Mubarak!

Bismillaah.

ramadan

Ramadan Mubarak to you all!  It is indeed a blessing to have come upon another Ramadan, and I pray that we all meet this blessed month with a strong desire to reap its benefits and rewards, and gain Allaah’s pleasure.  May Allaah grant us sincerity in our worship and accept all that we do for His sake, ameen.

I liked Umm Adam’s idea from last year for a Ramadan Journal so much that I decided I’d give it a shot this year inshaa Allaah.

This year is the first Ramadan where the kids are still on summer vacation.  School for them will not start until after the Eid inshaa Allaah, so they’ll be hanging around the house while I try to get through fasting these long summer days as well as trying to get in extra worship.  Plus, my children – like most children – are easily bored and prone to whining and bickering with one another and many other things that try my patience…so, in short, I was/am expecting this Ramadan to be just a tad bit more challenging than previous ones.

Alhamdu lillaah, there are lots of resources on the net for kids in Ramadan.  One site I came across and just went ga-ga over was Talibiddeenjr Ramadan.  Mashaa Allaah this site is packed with all kinds of goodies, as well as links to other sites.

One idea I took from there was the Ramadan bulletin board.  Here’s ours:

Ramadan Bulletin Board

Ramadan Bulletin Board

I set up the template last night and let the kids fill in the “suhoor” and “these break your fast” sections with me today.  We brainstormed good foods for suhoor then went online to find pictures.  Then they all took turns gluing the pictures into the section.  If you can see up there, there’s oatmeal, eggs, cream of wheat, couscous (with milk), cheese, whole wheat bread, milk, soups.  One thing we didn’t post up there was water, but that’s a given :).

My two oldest (9 and 7 hijri years) are attempting to fast every other day mashaa Allaah.  They can also read alhamdu lillaah, and are trying to finish the qur’an this month as well.  I printed out TJ Ramadan’s “Ramadan Ibadah Tracker” for them, and for the two youngest – my designated “iftar helpers” – a simple weekly good deeds chart I found online.

We also devised a daily schedule together that we will try to stick with.

Daily Schedule (purple section)

Daily Schedule (purple section)

I noticed that recently my children began to show an interest in Disney characters, to the point where in their play, they pretend to be those characters.  Ariel, Belle, Snow White, Cinderella, Aladdin???  I thing it’s HIGH TIME they start to know the stories of heroism and bravery of their ancestors…the noble prophets and the glorious sahabah!  This Ramadan we’ll go over the seerah (biography) of the prophet – peace and blessings be upon him – as well as some of the stories of other prophets (peace be upon them all), and some of the prominent male and female companions.

For today’s lesson we went over the story of the first revelation in the cave of Hira.  We also discussed the verses where Allaah commanded the believers to fast and the meaning of taqwa, as well as surah Al-Qadr and the significance of laylat al-Qadr.

For arts and crafts they drew an iftar feast, and a night time scene of the mountain where the cave of Hira is located with the city of Mecca surrounding it.

Throughout the day I managed to clean some parts of the house that I had been neglecting, cook dinner, get a shower and finish my qur’an reading for the day before maghrib.

All in all, it went pretty well for the first day alhamdu lillaah.

All praise is due to you, Yea Rabb!

My sister and I have decided we’ll get together twice a week in the afternoons – once at my place and once at hers.  Tomorrow we’ll go to her house inshaa Allaah and all the kiddie cousins will do some sort of Ramadan-related activities together, and she and I and our oldest niece (she’s 16) will do some beneficial reading together, inshaa Allaah.

I’m having guests tomorrow for iftar as well :).  My brother-in-law is in Egypt visiting and is leaving on Monday, so he and his wife and son will come to eat with us inshaa Allaah.

Iftar today – Kibdeh Iskanderani, rice, salad, whole wheat pita.

Say (O Muslims), “We believe in Allah and that which has been sent down to us and that which has been sent down to Abraham, Ishmael, Isaac, Jacob, and to the twelve sons of Jacob. and that which has been given to Moses and Jesus, and that which has been given to the Prophets from their Lord. We make no distinction between any of them, and to Him we have submitted.”  ( Al-Baqarah:  136 )


7 thoughts on “Ramadan Journal Day 1: Ramadan Mubarak!

  1. woohoo! thumbs up ya asiya, mashaAllah, you are on top of things. May Allah give you barakah in your time, and help you raise those beautiful children wonderfully. give my salaamz to najwa. did she move back to egypt?

  2. Umm Travis, ameen to you du’aa!

    Fatima, ameen to your du’aa as well, and may Allaah grant that to all of us! I gave Najwa your message and yes, she moved back to Egypt alhamdu lillaah 🙂

  3. Salaam A’lakum Asiya:

    Wow – sounds like sooo much fun, I wouldn’t mind doing some of those activities and i’m an adult (though still a kid at heart)! You found a really creative way to include all of the children in Ramadan activites!

    This is my second one and I’m learning more each time 🙂 I got a new Quran a few months ago and was saving this one to crack open just for Ramadan. It has arabic, phonetic arabic and english so i can practice my arabic while reading !

    Anyway, Ramadan Mubarak! or as my brothers and sisters from Sudan say: Ramadan Kareem!
    Peace Laila

  4. Wa alaykum salaam wa rahmatullaah

    Thanks for stopping by to comment! I am trying really hard this year since the kids are getting older and therefore need to know what ramadan is about from the aspect of the deen and not egyptian culture. Congratulations on the new qur’an it sounds like a good one…I hope you get benefit from it’s features. Ramadan Mubarak to you too!

  5. Assalam Aleikum wrb sis Asiya,

    I came across your blog and I thought hey, this is pretty! But apart from looking good, I glanced through your blog and saw that you have beneficial posts as well ma sha Allah! 🙂 Anyway, Ramadhan Mubarak to you sis! May Allah accept our duas and prayers amin! 😀

    • Wa alaykum salaam wa rahmatullaah wa barakaatuh, thanks for the double compliment sister 🙂 Ameen to your du’aa and Ramadan Mubarak to you too!

Leave a Reply

