Ramadan Journal Day 5: A Small Contest

Bismillaah.

quran

The day started with my sister and I having suhoor together.  It was a nice feeling sitting in the dark of the night chitchatting with her over a bowl of oatmeal.  Just like old times.  One thing I love about my sisters is that we can be brutally honest with one another.  Any time I’ve sought to improve myself – for the most part, –  it’s been a result of one of them telling me how much of a jerk I’ve been lately, lol!  Truly a blessing from Allaah.

We talked and talked and talked, prayed fajr then went back to sleep.  The morning came and went and she and the kids left around thuhr time.

The husband and the two oldest kids and I decided we’d make a little contest to encourage everyone to stay on top of their Qur’an reading.  So whoever completes reading the qur’an first  before the end of the month will get a monetary prize at the end of the month.  I’m really hoping it’s one of the kids…but I know my husband and I have a feeling it’ll be him.  Allaah knows best though, we’ll have to see inshaa Allaah.

Baked potato casserole in tomato sauce, rice, watercress salad

“Verily, Allah forgives not that partners should be set up with him in worship, but He forgives except that (anything else) to whom He pleases, and whoever sets up partners with Allah in worship, he has indeed invented a tremendous sin.

Have you not seen those who claim sanctity for themselves. Nay – but Allah sanctifies whom He pleases, and they will not be dealt with injustice even equal to the extent of a Fatil (A scalish thread in the long slit of a date stone).

Look, how they invent a lie against Allh, and enough is that as a manifest sin.”  (Al-Nisaa’ : 48-50 )

3 thoughts on “Ramadan Journal Day 5: A Small Contest

    • Jazakillaahu khayran habibty…I would love to have you come join us :). You know if you are ever able you are more than welcome any time!

  1. Pingback: Twenty Eleven « Loving My Life In Islam

Leave a Reply

