Ramadan Journal Day 20: A Noble Tradition

Bismillaah.

This month has really flown by subhaan Allaah.  We have reached the last ten nights already, alhamdu lillaah!  May Allaah accept all of our deeds, forgive us our sins and shower us with His mercy, ameen.

I have enjoyed keeping this Ramadan Journal and hope that it has been beneficial to those who’ve been following.  During these last ten days, I’ll be trying to increase in praying and reading qur’an, as well as preparing for Eid al-Fitr.  So this may be my last post until Eid, Allaah knows best.  However, my Ramadan Journal would not be complete without mention of one very symbolic aspect of Ramadan, and that is the musaharati.

The musaharati is a man (sometimes a woman) who walks around the neighborhood near the last part of the night, usually about an hour and a half to two hours before fajr (dawn), beating on a drum and singing a “wake up” song for all the fasting muslims to take their suhoor (pre-dawn meal).  My first Ramadan here, to be quite honest, I found it to be quite annoying actually, being startled out of a peaceful slumber by what sounded to me like a child banging on a pot with a wooden spoon, two whole hours before fajr time!   I thought to myself, why is he waking everyone up with his noise so early???  Who needs two hours to eat and drink???   Ughhhhh!!!

But subhaan Allaah, Allaah softened my heart over the years, and this being my 6th Ramadan in Egypt, I have grown to love and look forward to this noble tradition, mashaa Allaah.  It’s something really heartwarming so I thought it’d be nice to share it hear in my Ramadan Journal.

I have been trying all month to get a video of him going around, but I am never fully awake when he comes (around 2:15 am), so although I’ve set my alarm ahead many nights, as well as put the camera on the nightstand on many nights,  I still have yet to get him on video.

It’s the last ten nights, and I’m planning to head to bed right after typing this post so I can wake up early for qiyam (may Allaah strengthen us all to stand for prayer at night, and accept it from us, ameen), so hopefully I can get some footage of him and post it on Facebook inshaa Allaah.  Stay tuned :)…….

Al-Bukhari and Muslim recorded from ‘Aishah that during the last ten days of Ramadan, the Messenger of Allah would wake his wives up during the night and then remain apart from them (that is, being busy in acts of worship). A narration in Muslim states: “He would strive [to do acts of worship] during the last ten days of Ramadan more than he would at any other time.”

Aisha reported that With the start of the last ten days of Ramadan, the Prophet used to tighten his waist belt (i.e. work hard) and used to pray all the night, and used to keep his family awake for the prayers. [Bukhari]

May Allaah grant us all Laylatul-Qadr, ameen!

2 thoughts on “Ramadan Journal Day 20: A Noble Tradition

Leave a Reply

