It’s Been a While…

Bismillaah.

Wow, it’s been over a month since I’ve posted anything!  Time flies by so quickly subhaan Allaah.  I pray that Allaah enables me and you, to use the time that He has given us in the most beneficial manner, to ourselves, as well as to others, ultimately seeking His pleasure, ameen.

It’s been non-stop busy around here since towards the end of Ramadan.  First we were preparing for Eid, then the Eid came and went.  (A very, VERY belated Eid Mubarak to everyone :/ …better late than never, right?)  The day of Eid was nice as well as the week that followed, mashaa Allaah.  We tried to get in as much family fun activities as possible before school started.

Oh yeah, speaking of school.  The school system delayed the start of the school year because of suspected or expected swine flu cases…the last of our kids (a kindergartener and a preschooler) finally started school yesterday…whew!  Alhamdu lillaah because I am telling you, it has been a loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong summer!  It was already long enough and then they had the nerve to lengthen it all the way to October!!!

Anyway, so now the house is empty mashaa Allaah…a first in all my years as a mom!  By 8am, everyone’s out the door for at least another 5 hours, and it feels…….GREAT!

One of the things that I was supposed to be doing with all this free time was going back to Arabic…well, ain’t happenin’…at least not right now.  Soon inshaa Allaah, make du’aa.

I am however going full speed ahead with the qur’an center alhamdu lillaah.  This is my 3rd year there, and I swear by Allaah when I tell you, a muslim really cannot afford to not have the qur’an as a constant in his life EVERY DAY.  Be it through memorizing, studying tafseer, or simply getting in a page or two of daily reading.  For me, studying and memorizing qur’an on a daily basis has been like a lifeline to me.  The year 2008 was a very difficult year for me, beginning with my mother-in-law’s passing on Dec. 30, 2007, and ending with that of my father on Nov. 18, 2008.  We had a total of four deaths in the family that year.  In addition to that, my mother was ill and had to have surgery, there were problems between family members, and I was a worried, nervous wreck all the way over here away from all my family during these hard times.  Having the qur’an, the words of Allaah, as a daily constant proved to be a mercy and a blessing from Allaah.  When I would read the verses about patience, it made me feel better knowing that Allaah is with those who patiently persevere through lifes trials.  When I read the verses about the hardships the prophets and messengers went through, it made my worries seem so miniscule.

It’s been almost 6 years for me here in Egypt, and I honestly don’t know how or why I delayed taking up courses at the qur’an center for so long.  Being there has made such big difference in my life and with my eman.  Granted we all have our highs and lows when it comes to eman, but being in an environment where you’re studying the words of Allaah daily…His commandments, His prohibitions, His promises, His warnings….it gives a totally different perspective on life and all the things that life puts us through.    Subhan Allaah!

I encourage anyone who has the opportunity and means to enter a qur’an center or even hire a private teacher, to do so…TODAY.  You will not regret it.  I guarantee it.

In other news, my husband and I took our first vacation, alone that is, in all the 10 years we’ve been married.  It was nice, we went to Alex for 2 nights and 3 days.  Beautiful weather, lovely beaches, a charming city, and no kids!…mashaa Allaah, a very nice and much needed trip.  I’ll post pics later inshaaa Allaah.

What’s new with everyone?  Can’t wait to hear from all of you!

11 thoughts on “It’s Been a While…

  1. wooooooooooowwww, mashaAllah. 🙂 vacation alone with no kids? I can only imagine… lol. 🙂 where’d you get the guts?
    much love and belated eid mubarak to you my dear.

    • Fatima, I definitely had some anxiety in the days leading up to the trip, and especially during the trip itself. Not like I was worried about them, it was just really weird being away from them for so long. Haitham has travelled a lot before without us, so he was fine, but me, it just felt really awkward, ya know? But we got through it, and guess what? When we came to pick them up they were crying and didn’t want to go home!!! LOL!

  2. mashaAllah sis! A vacation with no kids? I’m sure you enjoyed it and definitely deserved it.

    You’re so right about having to have Quran in your life on a daily basis. I’ve been guilty myself of putting it off but my husband really got on me about that and I’m back on track mashallah.

    • UmmNadia, thanks for your comment, sis! We did enjoy the trip mashaa Allaah. I think it’s important for couples to get that time together. Alhamdu lillaah Allaah enabled us to do it after all these years 🙂 And I’m very glad to hear you’re back on track with the qur’an. May Allaah make it the life of our hearts, ameen. Kiss the baby for me 🙂

  3. As salaamuAlaikum wa rahmatuAllahi wa barakaatuh,
    I am glad to have found ur blog btw its excellent mashaAllah!!!
    subhaanAllah agree 100%, its been a couple yrs and a half the diff in my soul and my outlook on life is soo much difft alhamdulilah.
    We hardly see each other is that beause we have to STUDY everyday lol. I miss u sis, i know we live like down the street from each other, its just always some kind of situation im having over here mashaAllah
    A vacation girl mashaAllah ! were still waiting to be able to take one, and weve been married 12 yrs now,better late than never!

    • Wa alaykum salaam wa rahmatullaah wa barakaatuh,
      Hey Naj, how are you girl? Thanks for commenting on the blog! I’m glad the qur’an has made a difference in your life mashaa Allaah. Take care and don’t let the intensiveness of the studies wear you down…it’s all done for Allaah’s pleasure, and He is fully aware of the struggles and hardships we endure to get closer to Him. Barak Allaahu feeki 🙂

      • wa alaikumsalaam wa rahmatuAllahi wabarakaatuh,
        really not the intensive nature so much weighing me down but the several other things in my life that’s stressing me out, which I can’t do anything about but just go back to the daily juggle, aside from trying to be patient and make dua.

      • Yes Nej, du’aa is the most important. It can move mountains! I’m planning to write a post about it inshaa Allaah.

  4. Assalaamu alaikum sister Asiya,

    mashaaAllah.. I’m so happy that this has been such a benefit to you. I need such a group. where and what is your qur’an center? I’m really curious to know the name and location.. do you do hifdth with a group of sisters or one-on-one with a teacher?

    And I love the hope that I may get a vacation alone one day with my husband, inshaaAllah!! =D

    wassalaam,
    Asma (from mm2em)

    • Wa alaykum salaam wa rahmatullaah wa barakaatuh! Welcome Asma 🙂 Believe it or not, I remember you from MM2EM. It’s hard for me to forget people/names mashaa Allaah 🙂

      Alhamdu lillah the school I attend is here in Nasr City. It’s called Dar Fajr for Qur’an Memorization. Affiliated with Markaz Fajr for Arabic, but it is self-managed. I study in a group of about 4 sisters maximum, although classes can be larger than that. Yes we do hifth mashaa Allaah, as well as tajweed rules and a little tafseer. It is a really enjoyable and uplifting environment eman-wise, so I highly recommend it to anyone I meet. I pray you can get a chance to join us soon, ameen.

      I pray you and your hubby get that vacation too, ;P

      Take care sister,
      Asiya

  5. Pingback: Camera Dump (travels) « Loving My Life In Islam

Leave a Reply

