Eid Mubarak!

Bismillaah.

Eid Mubarak!  May Allaah accept all our deeds and efforts from these past 9 days, ameen!

Those pics are of the cake I baked for the Eid.  It’s a triple layer banana chocolate cake with vanilla butter cream frosting.  I was going to make this cake from my friend Jamila’s blog, but there were some bananas on the counter that were attracting way too many fruit flies, so I decided instead to put them to use.  This is the recipe I found online.  I put candles on it, turned all the lights out and we sang “Eid Saeed”…for all of about 2 seconds…the candle wax was quickly dripping onto the cake and I was NOT about to watch my cake get ruined with cheap party store candle wax!!!  (That’s also why I couldn’t get a pic of the cake with the candles on it).

Eid has been pretty uneventful so far, with the exception of the prayer and khutbah.  We prayed at our normal spot, Masjid Bilal, looking forward to seeing all my peeps…but actually ended up seeing only one sister I know.  Actually, the atmosphere at the masjid was a lot less…exciting than previous years.  The khutbah was awesome though mashaa Allaah.  We came on home and just sort of lounged around… not really what I’m used to for Eid holidays, but alhamdu lillaah.  We usually get together with friends and/or family, but this year so many people’s circumstances have changed making it hard to get together.  For some reason this made me quite emotional.  I found myself trying hard not to cry so as not to take away any of the kids’ happiness.  I ended up just going up to my room and crying myself to sleep…my cold toes woke me up a couple hours later, lol!

I miss my family…I miss my old friends…I miss the sisters in Virginia…I miss the big yet intimate Eid gatherings between family and close friends.

So anyway yeah, I guess you could say I’ve got the holiday blues.

On a happier note, we’re – inshaa Allaah – making a trip to the countryside tomorrow to visit my husband’s khaal (maternal uncle).  His wife is my 2nd favorite lady here in Egypt (second to my MIL), such a sweet lady, so I always enjoy myself when we visit them mashaa Allaah.  And my mouth is watering thinking about the taste of cold, fresh-from-the-earth, well water…and country food!  Mmmmm mmmmm, dee-licious!  So I do have something to look forward to this Eid, alhamdu lillaah.  We also may barbecue on Thursday, inshaa Allaah.

How has your Eid been?  What types of things do you have planned for the remaining 3 days?  For fellow expats, do you miss your family and/or friends from your old community?  Do you feel particularly nostalgic and homesick on Eid?  How do you cope with those feelings?

Can’t wait to hear from everyone!

2 thoughts on “Eid Mubarak!

Leave a Reply

