And we’re back!!!

 

Bismillaah.

Alhamdu lillaah we made it through Screen Free Week!  It was certainly not as difficult as I had expected, alhamdu lillaah.  I’m so proud of my munchkins as they really outdid themselves  and exceeded my expectations mashaa Allaah.

The first day they forgot and kept asking to get on the computer.  After reminding them a few times about our experiment, my son cleverly suggested we just unplug the thing, which we did.

I was surprised at how easy it was for them to find things to do.  We reviewed Qur’an and memorized some too; we read stories of the prophets, comic books, American literature; we did my hair in all sorts of crazy styles, baked cookies, solved puzzles, played board games like Scrabble and Othello; I taught them how to play Checkers and how to skip rope; we had 3 tea parties at our house and the girls were invited to one at the neighbors’; we visited with old friends in Rehab where the kids were given a mini course in Origami; and my son started writing his own comic strip!  I noticed there was a lot less bickering and disputes as the kids were forced to constantly interact with one another, thereby developing their social skills.

I finished memorizing a surah, as well as reading a book on tafseer of Surat al-Fatihah.

Most importantly, we spent – and actually enjoyed – lots of quality time together alhamdu lillaah.  My oldest even remarked how happy she was about screen free week, because she felt the computer always distracted her from doing other things she needed to or would like to do….this from a 10 year-old!

All in all it was a successful week mashaa Allaah, and we achieved what we wanted alhamdu lillaah.  After discussing everyone’s feelings about the past week, we’ve decided that from here on out, the computer will stay off during the day, and inshaa Allaah in the evening we’ll all sit and watch something educational and entertaining.  (This of course will take effect after the situation in the country stabilizes…until then I’ve got the computer on and Al-Jazeera live running all day long.)

I want to say a big Thank You and Jazakum Allaahu Khayran for everyone who offered their support and ideas!   We truly appreciate it, and actually put each and every idea to use alhamdu lillaah!  Mwah!  We couldn’t have done it without you.

Take care all, and stay tuned for my thoughts on the revolution in Egypt…..

 

5 thoughts on “And we’re back!!!

  1. As Salaam Alaikum Sis,

    Mashallah it sounds as if you guys had a blast. I did fell to mention that the hair stylist do tend to come out in these types of events……..lol May Allah bless you all ameen

    • Wa alaykum salaam wa rahmatullaah wa barakaatuh, yes we did have a blast mashaa Allaah. LOLing at your hairdresser comment 🙂

  2. That sounds like something we should do. Once, recently they were punished from screen time for a few days and I was happy to see them playing monopoly and made up games.

  3. @Mona, to be honest I was worried about us failing, but mashaa Allaah, from the first day we found things to do! Alhamdu lillaah! Let me know if you’ll try it…it looks like we need to do it again!

  4. Pingback: Twenty Eleven « Loving My Life In Islam

Leave a Reply

