Unforgettable

Bismillaah. 

Some things in life you never forget.  Like your first day of kindergarten, or the smell of your grandparents home, or the first time you got stung by a bee.  

And then there are some people you never forget either.  One of them is my dear friend, Lateefah Muhammad.  We were in 5th grade together at an islamic private school.  I had been in the school since 3rd grade, but she was new that year.  Our class was only a handful of girls, about 5 or 6 if I remember correctly, so the prospect of a new girl joining us was exciting.  I remember she used to like to talk a lot, had a lot of stories to tell 🙂  She was the only girl in a family of 6 boys, so it’s no wonder she was never short of stories! 

One story she told us in particular, I’ve never forgotten all these years later.  It was about her father taking her and all her brothers out to dinner with their new step-mother.  They had been served pork without knowing it, and everyone ended up having to spit their food out in the middle of dinner.  They were quite disgusted by it, but everyone seemed to get a good laugh out of it. 

But that’s not why I’ve never forgotten that story. 

I’ve never forgotten the story because, as nosey little 5th grade girls, of course when we heard the word “step-mother” our ears perked up and the questions started a-rolling. 

“Your parents are divorced?”  “Where’s your mother?” 

I’ll never forget the way Lateefah’s voice and entire demeanor changed as she struggled to choke out those words:  “My mother died…she had cancer.” 

I don’t think at the time I had known anyone who died, and certainly not anyone who’s mother had died.  I remember feeling really bad for Lateefah, and then feeling relieved that at least her father had found a new wife and she at least had a step-mother.  I remember thinking to myself, I really hope she’s a nice lady and is good to them.  

That was my last year at that school and Lateefah and I lost touch over the years.  Alhamdu lillaah, a few years ago we reconnected on Facebook (see, it is good for something, lol!) 

It has been refreshing to be reconnected with someone from so long ago, mashaa Allaah.  Catching up on life, sharing pictures of kids, etc.  But it seems their family is facing the grim possibility of losing another one of their loved ones to cancer:  this time her older brother, Jamal Muhammad.

Which brings me to the purpose of this blog post:  Jamal and his wife and children are currently living overseas, and because of his latest prognosis they would like to return home to the states to be with family.  You can read all about it here:  Jamal’s Sadaqa Fund.

I am asking you for the sake of Allaah to do whatever is in your means, whether financially or with your supplications, to help this family out.  Cancer is a disease that does not discriminate, we all know that.  It could be one of us or our loved ones next.  But the good thing is that Allaah helps those that help others!  “Inn-Allaaha fee ‘awn al ‘abd, ma daam-al ‘abd fee ‘awni akheehi” (Allaah is aiding His slave, so long as the slave is helping his brother)

And may Allaah reward you for anything you put forth, ameen. 

6 thoughts on “Unforgettable

  1. Assalaamu alaikum

    My Dear Sister UmmRahmah,

    Maa shaa Allaah, may Allaah preserve you, ameen. You never fail to amaze me. Just when I’m stuck on my troubles, worries, problems, etc. You come along with such great reminders.

    I’m truly thanksful that Allaah has placed special people like yourself into my life.

    So, know, you’re truly unforgettable for me. May Allaah gathers us and our families in Jannah, ameen.

    With regards to this story, you’ve filled things in. I heard about this brother and his family or rather, received a tweet. May Allaah preserve and grant them ease, ameen.

    I’ll check out the fund that’s been established to see what I and my family can do, inshaa Allaah.

    BaarakAllaahu feekum for the reminder and beatifully touching story. 😀

    UmmAbdullaah Khadijah USA to KSA

    • Wa alaykum salaam wa rahmatullaah wa barakaatuh, Ameen, ameen, ameen to all of your du’aas my dear sis, and the feeling is mutual 🙂 Even though we’re oceans apart you still remain one of the truly special sisters in my heart, wa feeki barak Allaah! So you’ve finally made it to KSA? Allaahu Akbar, that’s wonderful mashaa Allaah! May Allaah bless your time and experience there for you and your family, ameen. How’s my dear Umm Sumayyah doing? It would be nice to hear from her 🙂 Please give her my salaams.

  2. As Salaamu Alaikum Sis,

    You know I’m crying right? How in the world do you remember that story? May Allah reward you for this and for your comforting words to me and my family. I love you sis, for the sake of Allah first and then for myself.

    Jazakallahu Khair

    Lateefah

    • Wa alaykum salaam wa rahmatullaah wa barakaatuh,

      Didn’t mean to make you cry habibty! I had a feeling mentioning that story would be a bit much for you, but I had to say what was in my heart. There is no need to thank me, believe me, it’s the least I could do. How did I remember the story? Simply put, it truly had an impact on me sis, as does this situation with your brother. He is so blessed to have all of you, his siblings and parents, beside him during this trial from Allaah Ta’aala. May Allaah grant him complete shifaa – and He is certainly Able to do this and more! – and purify him and increase his faith and raise his status, ameen. May the One for whom you love me love you, ameen!

  3. May Allah azza wa jal reward you for blogging about Br. Jamal. Ameen! As I was reading your story I kept saying to myself “I have a FBF wih that very same name, masha allah”. Turns out it is the same sister, alhamdulillah! While I have never met Sr. Lateefah this story shows the stength & resiliency she has. I will forever keep him & his family in dua. In the last year 4 ppl close to me (muslim companions & 1 non-muslim 88 y.o. aunt) has been diagnosed with & are fighting cancer. Whatever the reason Allah is testing them all incl Jamal with this disease, I pray their bodies are rid of it & Allah cures them of it. Ameen!

Leave a Reply

